FTP Upload

Discovered a bug? Post about it here!
User avatar
angelchc
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Nov 2022, 14:14

FTP Upload

Post by angelchc »

Hello everyone,

I would also like to upload my saved games to my FTP server.
Unfortunately, that doesn't work.

A window appears with this message, see below.
Host, username and password are correct.
The same settings on my FTP server.

Greetings..

Angel

Image

Here mine "settings.ini":

Code: Select all

;===============================
; GameSave Manager settings
;		Edit with care!
;===============================

[History]
UsedVers=3.1.512|3.1.517

[Window]
Width=1100
Height=650
X=595
Y=89
DiagLog_Width=496
DiagLog_Height=339

[LastDirs]
Backup=Z:\_Backup\Spiele
Restore=
SpreaderSource=
SpreaderDestination=
ValidateArchive=

[General]
Language=german
CacheDir=default
ShowVerInTitle=true
ShutdownTasks=true
ScanOnStartup=true
SaveScanResults=true
SaveLogs=true
UpdateCheckOnStartup=true
MessageSounds=true
AdminRightsCheck=false

[Cloud]
UseBoxSync=false
UseDropBox=false
DropBoxDir=default
UseGDrive=false
GoogleDriveDir=default
UseSkyDrive=false
UseFTP=true
Subfolder=

[FTP_Details]
Host=
User=
Pass=
Dir=

[Updates]
UpdateCheckOnWinLogin=false
DirectLinks=false
ListTesting=false
AutoUpdate=true
ProgDownload=true
IncrementalUpdates=false
UsePreCompiledUpdates=true
RemindCheckUpdates=false
LastCheck=2459914
PromptUser=false

[Associations]
gsba=false
gsdu=false
gsms=false
ContextMenu=false
AutoCheck=false

[Backup]
SeparateArchives=true
SeparateArchives_TimeStamp=true
SepSubFolders=false
SeparateArchives_OnChange=false
PurgeCount=0
ValidateOnArchiveCreation=true
RescanReminder=false
DuplicateArchives=
DefaultBackupDir=
ConfirmChecksumResponse=true
RememberBackupSelection=true

[SyncLink]
IgnoreExclusionRules=false
ShowSteamCloud=true
ShowUplayCache=true
WaitAfterEachLink=false
Subfolder=GameSave Manager; Sync & Link

[Spreader]
SymLink=true
Junction=false
SteamRunningCheck=true
HideXCOPY=false

[7zip]
Use7zFormat=false
LZMA2=false
UseCompression=false
Hide7zWindow=true
UseLargePages=false

[Detection]
Steam=true
SteamCache=true
SteamCloud=true
uPlay=true
Flash=true
DetectSize=true
SortByDate=false
SortBySize=false
SortByCustomEntries=false
CheckForDupDirs=true
ShowStatusInfo=false
QuickExclusionRuleset=true

[Variables]
DOCUMENTS=default
SHARED_DOCUMENTS=default
APPDATA=default
APPDATA_COMMON=default
APPDATA_LOCAL=default
PROG_FILES_86=default
STEAM=default
STEAM_CACHE=default
STEAM_CLOUD=default
UPLAY=default
FLASH=default
SAVED_GAMES=default
USER_PROFILE=default
User avatar
InsaneMatt
Site Admin
Posts: 440
Joined: 22 Jan 2018, 00:33

Re: FTP Upload

Post by InsaneMatt »

I have an idea what is causing the issue.
I'll look into it in the coming days, thanks.
User avatar
angelchc
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Nov 2022, 14:14

Re: FTP Upload

Post by angelchc »

Okay thanks.
User avatar
InsaneMatt
Site Admin
Posts: 440
Joined: 22 Jan 2018, 00:33

Re: FTP Upload

Post by InsaneMatt »

I've looked into it, but the problem wasn't what I expected.
What it looks like is a unmanaged error caused when the provided FTP account details doesn't have List permissions. This permission is required so that GameSave Manager can check if a file with the same filename already exists on the server (removing it so it can upload the new file).

Can you confirm that your FTP account has List permissions and try again?
User avatar
angelchc
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Nov 2022, 14:14

Re: FTP Upload

Post by angelchc »

@InsaneMatt

What is the "List permissions" ?
Where do I set this in the GameSave Manager ?

I asked the support of my provider where I create the FTP account, they told me that they don't have anything like that.
User avatar
InsaneMatt
Site Admin
Posts: 440
Joined: 22 Jan 2018, 00:33

Re: FTP Upload

Post by InsaneMatt »

That I'm afraid I cannot help with.
I performed this test within a Windows 10 virtual machine running FileZilla Server. The permission that I narrowed the issue down to was called List and was under the Directory permission group when configuring the FTP user account within FileZilla Server. No idea what this would be called in a Linux solution (which I'd imagine your provider uses).
User avatar
angelchc
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Nov 2022, 14:14

Re: FTP Upload

Post by angelchc »

Too bad.
User avatar
InsaneMatt
Site Admin
Posts: 440
Joined: 22 Jan 2018, 00:33

Re: FTP Upload

Post by InsaneMatt »

Have you tried connecting to your FTP host through a dedicated FTP client (such as FileZilla)?
If there's an issue there, it might help you narrow down the issue (it'll likely give you an error code, which your host can use to debug the issue).
User avatar
angelchc
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Nov 2022, 14:14

Re: FTP Upload

Post by angelchc »

The FTP upload works perfectly.
Use the "Total Commander" for this.
User avatar
InsaneMatt
Site Admin
Posts: 440
Joined: 22 Jan 2018, 00:33

Re: FTP Upload

Post by InsaneMatt »

Does gs_mngr_3.exe have inbound and outbound permissions through your firewall?
It could be as simple as your firewall 'blocking' the data transfer and causing an issue similiar to what I managed to replicate via the List permission.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest